The Wilmslow Festival Of One Act Plays

"The Friendly Festival"

12th - 16th June 2018

7.30pm start each night

June sees the return of our annual competitive Festival of One Act Plays, featuring many varied one act plays from dramatics groups throughout the area.

This is a great opportunity to see some really exciting and varied drama from all over the North West. Groups are limited to a maximum of 45 minutes and each evening has several different plays on. Each evening is concluded by a verbal adjudication by our adjudicator.

Plays are entered into three categories: junior (under 14), youth (14-18) and senior. Awards are made on the Saturday night. The awards are:

Confused? Still wondering what a "one act play festival" is? Look here.

Or read about last year's festival in this article in the Wilmslow Guardian.

Festival Running Order

Tuesday 12th June

  1. "If You Go Down to the Woods Today" by Geoff Bamber  Carmel Bird Theatre School (Junior/Comedy)

Wednesday 13th June

  1. "Twelfth Night" adapted from William Shakespeare  Carmel Bird Theatre School (Youth/Comedy)
  2. "Thicker Than Water" by Rebecca Gardner Tidesley  Players Theatre (Senior/Drama)

Thursday 14th June

  1. "Macbeth" by Geoff Bamber  ACTS  (Junior/Comedy)
  2. "iMa" by Joan Breen  Barton Theatre Company  (Senior/Drama)

Friday 15th June

  1. "The Wizard of Oz" adapted by Julia Whitehead  Whitehead School of Dance and Drama (Junior/Fairytale)
  2. "Sour Grapes and Ashes" by N J Warburton  ACTS (Youth/Drama)

Saturday 16th June

  1. "The Happy Prince" adapted from Oscar Wilde's short story  Cheshire Academy of Performing Arts (Junior/Fable)
  2. "Two" by Jim Cartwright  Woollywood Theatre (Senior/Comedy)
  3. "The Saxon Wives of Ellandune" by L DuGarde Peach  Wilmslow Guild Players (Senior/Comedy)

Book tickets online

Other ways to book

Last Year's Winners

Best Junior Production

The Trouble with Teenagers (The Company, Heald Green Theatre)

Best Junior Individual Performance

Lydia Ridgway as Queen Elizabeth I in Oh Mr Shakespeare! (ACTS)

Best Youth Production

Dreamjobs (Phoenix Dance and Drama)

Best Youth Individual Performance

Cora Bowers and Imogen Bradshaw as Sly and Crafty in The Chair (Hyde Little Theatre)

Best Senior Production

Consequences (CHADS)

Best Senior Individual Performance

Helen Gresty and Janan Chopra as Effie and Dr Kovacs in Effie's Burning (Nantwich Players)

The Geoffrey Reed Award for Best Director

Alyssa Stott and Jill Breckton for Sarah (Phoenix Dance and Drama)

Adjudicator's Award

Barbara Harris and Margaret Williams as Marjorie and Edna in Slim Chance (Players Dramatic Society)

The Syd Mence Cup for a Piece of Theatre Magic

Matt Beton as The Knight in Shop! (Wilmslow Guild Players)

Photos of the awards on Facebook